Enhancing the professionalism of financial advisors in the best interests of the consumer

North Central Saskatchewan Chapter

 Upcoming Event Registration

Under 5 Event

 Are you under 5 years in business?

Join us to hear great speakers and for an excellent networking opportunity!

Location: Hudsons Canada's Pub, 401 21st St E, Saskatoon, SK 

Speakers Colin Baerg, Regional Director at Investors Group and Kim LaFreniere, Advisor from Sun Life Financial will share their industry knowledge and experience from several perspectives. 

Come out and enjoy appetizers and a beverage.

Cost: $5.00

Register today!

Thursday, September 21, 2017

UPDATE 2017 - Driving Client Value

Update 2017 will focus on four key areas critical for ‘Driving Client Value’ today:

  • The New Tax Rules – what’s in, what’s out, what’s still under revision?
  • Sticking to the Plan – on the road to retirement
  • Making the Money Last – during retirement
  • Estate Transition – are your executor clients prepared?

Update 2017 delivers a series of video interviews with subject experts.

  • James W. Kraft, CPA, CA, MTax, CLU®, CH.F.C., CFP®, TEP, FEA
  • Teresa Black Hughes, CLU®, CFP®, R.F.P., CIM, FCSI
  • Aurora Tancock, CFP®, FLMI, AIAA
  • Scot Dalton, CIP, CEA
  • Moderated by Christopher George, CLU®, CHS®, CFP®, TEP
  • Earn up to 12 Institute Accredited CE credits. 6 CE credits earned when you attend Update 2017 seminar at your local Chapter. 6 CE credits earned for the self-study portion.

    *Please note Update 2017 is not a live event.

Update 2017 - Driving Client Value 
Monday September 25, 2017
Sheraton Cavalier, Saskatoon
Seminar Agenda 

7:30 am 




8:30 am


The New Tax Rules – what’s in, what’s out, what’s still under revision

James W. Kraft

Activity #1: Case Study – Adjusting to the New Tax Rules

10:00 am


10:15 am

Sticking to the Plan – on the road to retirement 

Teresa Black Hughes    

Activity #2:  Case Study – Saving the Plan

12:00 pm


12:45 pm

Making the Money Last – during retirement

Aurora Tancock

Activity #3:  Case Study – To CPP or Not CPP?

2:15 pm


2:30 pm

Estate Transition – are your ‘executor’ clients prepared? 

Scot Dalton

Activity #4:  Case Study – Executor Engagement 

4:00 pm


Monday, September 25, 2017

Lunch & Learn

October 18, 2017

Willows Golf & Country Club

11:30AM Registration 

11:45AM Lunch 

12:15PM Presentations 

Advocis Protective Association (APA) on Navigating a Claim 

Bad to Worse: Advisor Mistakes in the Claims Process

3:30PM Lunch & Learn Concludes 

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Fall PD Day

 North Central Saskatchewan Advocis Chapter
Fall PD Day 

November 15, 2017

German Cultural Center

120 Cartwright Street East

7:30 Registration

7:45 Breakfast

8:30 Welcome

Agenda: TBD 

Minimum of 6 CE credits for the day

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Denny Carr's "Secret Santa" Charity Event

Advocis and CJWW team up annually to host our Secret Santa fundraiser luncheon. All proceeds from the luncheon go to CJWW Denny Carr’s Secret Santa Foundation, which provides toys and food hampers to families in need at Christmas. 

Reserve your corporate table and bring your staff to enjoy prizes and entertainment! 

CJWW Denny Carr’s Secret Santa Foundation

Monday, December 4, 2017

Sheraton Cavalier 

11:30AM Registration 

12:00PM Lunch (Wieners and Beans) & Program 


$30/person; $240/Corporate Table of 8 people 

Thank you! 

Molly Lux

We are looking for prizes for this event. Please let me know if you would like to donate!

Monday, December 4, 2017

Walter Klassen
 Officers and Directors
First Vice President
Darren Ulmer CHS, CFP
Second Vice President
Evelyn McGaughey GBA
Annette Stephens
Membership Chair
Tammy Richmond
Program Chair
Annette Stephens
Professional Development Chair
Public Awareness Chair
Communication Chair
Tammy Richmond
Best Practices Chair
Professional Conduct Chair
Advocacy Chair
Curtis Kimpton CFP
Institute Representative
Terrence McBride CFP,CLU
Sponsorship Chair
Dean Owen CLU,CH.F.C.
GAMA Representative
Chris Hengen-Braun CHS
Totem Pole Chair
Past President
Janna LaRochelle
Jordan Cleghorn
Rebecca May-Gorges
Molly Lux
Karly Shanks
 Contact Information
Walter Klassen
109A - 2103 Airport Drive Saskatoon, SK S7L 6W2
(306) 717-0748